Cover Reveal: The Girl at the Hanging Tree

Anyone else interested in seeing books have more of a focus on addressing mental illness?

I’m thrilled that the cover I’m sharing today does include the topic of mental illness because I fully believe it needs to be a conversation less taboo.

Let me introduce you to Mary Gray’s The Girl at the Hanging Tree, a clean psychological thriller in the vein of Sharp Objects and The Girl on the Train releasing this October!

Also, keep reading to see a how you can get a super cool freebie from the author!

Gemma Louise Coldiron has two personalities. One is herself—easygoing, curious, and travel-hungry. The other is a dictatorial other half named Tansy, who only lets Gemma come out of their Victorian mansion to do the shopping every two weeks.

Gemma also has amnesia, and Tansy’s too busy painting macabre art to be forthcoming about their past. The town speaks to Gemma about a “Mr. Hardin,” and it doesn’t take her long to learn she was married to the oil tycoon before he mysteriously went missing.

While Gemma begs Tansy to tell her more about their life with the handsome stranger, Gemma soon learns that the town harbors a secret society. And Mr. Hardin? He was the leader.

If Gemma can’t figure out what happened while maintaining her volatile relationship with Tansy, the town will assume Gemma killed Mr. Hardin—and even more alters will take root in Gemma’s already crowded mind.

An acutely observed modern-day psychological thriller that plunges into the daunting abyss of mental illness, community indoctrination, and cult group-mind.

Release Date: October 6, 2020

Pre-Order on Amazon

Freebie from the Author!

If you preorder the book and send a digital copy of your receipt to the author at mary(at)monsterivy(dot)(com), she will mail you some STUNNING character art of the main character, Gemma, and her guy. These commissioned masterpieces can be seen on Monster Ivy’s Instagram and Facebook (posted yesterday HERE and HERE). You won’t want to miss out on this limited time offer, so hurry on up and preorder!

About the Author

Mary GrayMary Gray balances dark and twisty plots with faith-based messages. Some of her best ideas come when she’s lurking in the woods, experimenting with frightening foods, or pushing her kids on the tire swing. She is a contributor to THE FAITHFUL CREATIVE magazine and is the membership chair of INDIE AUTHOR HUB. Mary is the author of THE DOLLHOUSE ASYLUM, HER DARK FANTASY, OUR SWEET GUILLOTINE, HUSH, NOW FORGET, HOW TO WRITE FAITH-BASED MESSAGES FOR A SECULAR MARKET, and is a contributor of the rockin’ anthology, THE DEVILS YOU MEET ON CHRISTMAS DAY. All of these books are published through Mary’s small press, Monster Ivy Publishing.

Website FacebookTwitterInstagram

By | 2020-08-10T20:45:08-04:00 August 11th, 2020|Bookish Love|0 Comments

About the Author:

Laura A. Grace had a lifelong dream of getting to know authors behind the covers of her favorite reads. Little did she know that one day she would become an author, too! She has since published Dear Author: Letters from a Bookish Fangirl and Team Lines: A Poetry Collection, and has an upcoming manga, Gathering Faith. An avid BookTuber and book blogger at Unicorn Quester, as well as writer of clean, Christian manga, Laura creatively balances her passions of supporting indie authors and feeding her readers new stories. In between, she wields plastic lightsabers with her children and binge-watches anime with her husband.

Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.